Filling The Void With Disc Golf

Why Play Disc Golf

Disc Gofl BasketI have always loved sports and competition. Growing up I constantly played sports with my friends. There is great satisfaction that comes from mastering something, and the thrill of winning is priceless.

My big holdup with the popular sports is that my genetics held me back from ever really having a chance. As a kid, I was small and o so skinny. As a Sophomore in high school I was 5’4” and 120lbs. Not exactly stock to land a position on the football or basketball teams. With my genetic disadvantage I turned my athletic energies to sports like Volleyball (not very popular for boys) and Ultimate Frisbee. I thrived off these sports in college and have several intramural champion tee shirts to remind me of my glory days.

The reality is that even those days are gone. After a basketball injury and knee surgery, I’ve lost the quickness and jumping ability I once had. In addition, as a 33 year old adult, with children and responsibilities, it’s hard to get people together for any sort of athletic event.

I thought my days of sports were all but done from a competitive perspective, that is, until I discovered disc golf.

Disc golf is a sport that can be enjoyed by everyone. It can be both an individual and a team sport. There are no size barriers, and can be played by old and young alike. It can be done for pure recreation, exercise, or can get as competitive and serious as you want. You can play a round by yourself, with a friend, or in a tournament.

One of the best things about disc golf, is that it is very inexpensive to get into. You can buy discs for less than $10, and most courses are free. Better yet, you don’t actually even need a course. Frisbee golf can be enjoyed while camping or at any park. Simply select a target and see how many throws it takes you to hit it. Disc golf courses also offer a solution to underutilized space. You don’t need a specially groomed field or fences. In fact, wooded hilly terrain make for more challenging courses.

Disc golf requires decision making and athletic ability. There are literally hundreds of different frisbees to chose from that fly and behave in different manners. One can achieve great satisfaction by watching a flying disc glide the length of a football field.

If you’re looking for a hobby, something to focus on to remind your self that you’re alive, take up disc golf; you won’t regret it.

About Alan

I like computers, Disc Golf, Technology, and a bunch of other stuff.

Leave a Reply

