Review of the Prodigy D5

A few months ago Prodigy Disc announced that their future molds were going to be more “beginner friendly.” Now, I’m not a beginner, but I’m definitely not a professional disc golfer either. I consider myself an intermediate to advanced disc golfer, and would estimate that I can throw farther than 90% of the people that play disc golf.

So when a disc is designed to be beginner friendly, an intermediate player should be able to throw it right?

And I can throw this disc, just not as far as I can other discs like my Dynamic Discs Renegade and Westside King.

Anyways, here is the review I wrote of the D5 on InfiniteDiscs.com

I’m pretty disappointed in the D5. I’m no beginner, but I’m not exactly Mr. Power Arm either. So far I haven’t been able to handle any of the Prodigy Distance drivers. A few months ago when Prodigy said that their focus was moving away from professionals, to less experienced players, I got pretty excited for the new products they would be bringing out.

I thought this was going to be the fast understable driver that would provide easy beginner distance. I was hoping for something unLace like (which if you haven’t tried the unLace, you should, it’s the most amazingly understable driver ever).

My 174g D5 is nothing like the unLace. Infact, with my power I don’t even consider this disc understable. The heavier weight probably has something to do with it, but I’m thinking my disc isn’t exactly what Prodigy intended.

I’m able to get decent distance out of the D5, but my flight path slowly hooks left every time. For me to get max distance, my discs need to see some S curving high speed turn before the gradual end of flight fade. I’m not getting any turn with this disc, and most of my throws fail to reach 300 feet. My best field throw was 333,’ and it got that distance because I released it on a slight anhyzer angle. My flight path with the D5 is nothing like the inBounds path displayed above.

My D5 is stable enough that I’m even able to flick it, which I usually can’t successfull do with understable discs without them turning into rollers. Perhaps over time this disc will get more understable after I hit a few trees.

Due to my inability to get big straight flying distance out of the D5, I temporarily lost it in a pond on a big fading shot that was supposed to go straight. Thanks to Reuben’s willingness to go pond sludging, I got it back, and was able to take it out for some additional testing.

The first thing you’ll notice is that the D5 has a weird V-like canyon in the rim. It’s almost Monarch or Groove like. You’d think that Prodigy would learn from Innova’s mistakes, but apparently they thought it was a good idea.

If you’re looking for a really understable distance driver, this isn’t it. At least not in max weight. If you’re looking for a disc with a weird groove in the rim, then you’ll want to try the Prodigy D5.

 

Tags:

About Alan

I like computers, Disc Golf, Technology, and a bunch of other stuff.

Leave a Reply

